The Grosvenor Chapel
The Grosvenor Chapel

Please see the Grosvenor Chapel newsletter for Michaelmas 2019

Grosvenor Chapel Michaelmas 2019 Newsletter
Newsletter Michaelmas 2019.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [17.1 MB]

             This Week

 

Sunday 20th October

11.00 am Sung Eucharist on theEighteenth Sunday after Trinity

 

Tuesday 22nd October

12.30 pm Said Eucharist

1.10 pm Organ Recital:

Joao Santos (Leiria

Cathedral, Portugal)

 

Wednesday 23rd October

12.30 pm Daily Prayer

6.30 pm Public Meeting:

Chuka Umunna MP, Main Hall, Ukrainian Catholic Cathedral,

Binney Street

 

Thursday 24th October

8.00 am Said Eucharist

 

Friday 25th October

8.30 am Said Eucharist

 

Saturday 26th October

10.00 am - 2.00 pm

Marriage Preparation

 

Sunday 27th October

11.00 am Sung Eucharist,

Last Sunday after Trinity

 

Monday 28th October

12.30 pm Said Eucharist,

Ss Simon and Jude, Apostles

 

Tuesday 29th October

12.30 pm Said Eucharist

3.00 pm Hymns and Pimms:

for those living with dementia

and for their carers

 

Wednesday 30th October

12.30 pm Daily Prayer

 

Thursday 31st October

8.00 am Said Eucharist,

All Souls

7.00 pm Lucenarium:

Evensong for All Souls

 

Friday 1st November

8.30 am Said Eucharist,

All Saints

 

Sunday 3rd November

11.00 am Sung Eucharist,

All Saints Sunday

 

 

Advance notice

 

Sunday 10th November

10.55 am Remembrance SundaySung Eucharist with choir and

orchestra (Faure Requiem)

 

Tuesday 10th December

7.00 pm Grosvenor Chapel's

Community Carol Service

followed by refreshments

 

Music at the Grosvenor Chapel

MUSIC FOR THE SUNG EUCHARIST

The Choir sings each Sunday morning (except during August and on the Sundays after Christmas and Easter). The music is drawn from the great repertoire of mass settings, motets and anthems by composers from the renaissance to the present day, chosen to complement the season and the readings for the service.

 

 

Sunday 1st September

The Eleventh Sunday after Trinity

W.A.Mozart  Missa Brevis in D K194

William Byrd  Exsurge Domine

John Cook  Finale

 

Sunday 8th September

The Twelfth Sunday after Trinity

Sebastián de Vivanco  Missa Assumpsit Jesus

Robert Parsons  Ave Maria

J.S.Bach  Prelude & Fugue in G major BWV 541

 

Sunday 15th September

The Thirteenth Sunday after Trinity

Feast of the Holy Cross

Alessandro Scarlatti  Mass for Five Voices

Peter Phillips  O crux spendidior

Pierre du Mage  Grand Jeu

 

Sunday 22nd September

The Fourteenth Sunday after Trinity

Claudio Monteverdi  Missa à 4 da Capella

William Byrd  Beati mundo corde

Girolamo Frescobaldi  Ricercar Cromaticho

 

Sunday 29th September 

The Fifteenth Sunday after Trinity

St Michael and All Angels

G.P. da Palestrina  Missa Aeterna Christi munera

Richard Dering  Factum est silentium

J.S.Bach  Prelude in D major BWV 532

 

Sunday 6th October

The Sixteenth Sunday after Trinity (Harvest Festival)

Franz Schubert  Mass in G

Francis Jackson  For the fruits of his creation

Kenneth Leighton  Fanfare

 

Sunday 13th October 

The Seventeenth Sunday after Trinity

The Feast of the Dedication

Joseph Rheinberger  Cantus Missae

Johannes Brahms  Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen

Léon Boëllmann  Toccata

 

Sunday 20th October

The Eighteenth Sunday after Trinity

Flor Peeters  Missa S Josephi

John Ireland  Greater Love

John Ireland  Alla Marcia

 

Sunday 27th October

The Last Sunday after Trinity

Edmund Rubbra  St Dominic Mass

Claudio Monteverdi  Adoramus te, Christe

William Mathias  Toccata Giocosa

 

Thursday 31st October

All Souls Lucenarium

 

Sunday 3rd November

All Saints Sunday

T.L.da Victoria  Misss simile est regnum

Edgar Bainton  And I saw a new heaven

J.S.Bach  Prelude in C BWV 547(i)

 

Sunday 10th November

Remembrance Sunday

Gabriel Fauré  Requiem Mass

(with orchestra)

 

Sunday 17th November

The Second Sunday before Advent

Orlandus Lassus  Missa Quand'io pens

Robert Ramsey  O sapientia

J.S.Bach  Fugue in C  BWV 547(ii)

 

Sunday 24th November

The Feast of Christ the King

Herbert Howells  Missa Collegium Regale

Orlando Gibbons  O clap your hands together

Theodore Dubois  Toccata in G

Print Print | Sitemap
© The Grosvenor Chapel 2002-2015 | 24 South Audley St, London W1K 2PA | Tel: 020 7499 1684