The Grosvenor Chapel
The Grosvenor Chapel

             This Week

 

Tuesday 19th December

3.00 pm Hymns and Pimms for those suffering from dementia and their carers

5.15 pm Lazard's Carol Service

 

Wednesday 20th December

12.30 pm Daily Prayer

6.00 pm Forsters' LLP Carol Service

 

Thursday 21st December

8.00 am Said Eucharist

 

Friday 22nd December

8.30 am Said Eucharist

 

Saturday 23rd December

2.00 pm Marriage Service

 

Sunday 24th December

11.00 am Sung Eucharist on the Fourth Sunday of Advent

 

4.30 pm Christmas Eve

Family Crib Service

 

11.00 pm Carols by candlelight

 

11.30 pm Midnight Mass

 

Monday 25th December

11.00 am Christmas Day Sung Eucharist

 

Saturday 30th December

2.00 pm Blessing of a Marriage

 

Sunday 31st December

11.00 am Sung Eucharist for the First Sunday of Christmas

 

Tuesday 2nd January

8.30 am Said Eucharist, Basil the Great

 

Thursday 4th January

8.00 am Said Eucharist

 

Friday 5th January

9.15 am School Act of Worship

 

Sunday 7th January

11.00 am Sung Eucharist for the Feast of Epiphany

holy week: THE JOURNEY

In Holy Week one is invited to make a journey with Christ.

 

One is invited to embrace all of it: the joys and expectations of the "Triumphal Entry" to Jerusalem, the intimacy of the footwashing, the Last Supper, the intense prayer on the Mount of Olives, the betrayal in the night, the trial, torture, humiliation, rejection, condemnation, the agony of the cross, the cruelty and indifference, yet also the faithfulness and witness of some, the darkness of the tomb and Holy Saturday, the  surprise of the empty tomb, the first encounter with the Risen Christ. 

 

All this the Liturgy of the Church expresses and so we find ourselves on a journey that embraces not just Jesus', but also our own and the whole of the human race.  Jumping from Palm Sunday to Easter Sunday without the rest, misses out on the journey.

 

So we encourage you to journey with us, to journey with Christ, the world and yourself this Holy Week.

 

Palm Sunday (9th April) 10.45 am Blessing and exchange of palms in Mount Street Gardens, followed by Procession and Sung Eucharist

 

Holy Monday (10th April) 6.00 pm Said Eucharist

 

Holy Tuesday (11th April) 6.00 pm Said Eucharist

 

Holy Wednesday (12th April) 8.00 am Said Eucharist

7.00 pm Stations of the Cross jointly with Farm Street Church and St George's Hanover Square (starting at Farm Street Church) followed by refreshments

 

Maundy Thursday (13th April) 7.00 pm Solemn Mass of the Last Supper and Watch

 

Good Friday (14th April) 12.00 noon The Liturgy of our Lord's Passion

 

Easter Sunday Dawn Mass (16th April) 5.30 am followed by breakfast

 

Easter Sunday Sung Eucharist with orchestra (16th April) 11.00 am

 

 

Holy Week Poster 2017.docx
Microsoft Word document [152.3 KB]
Print Print | Sitemap
© The Grosvenor Chapel 2002-2015 | 24 South Audley St, London W1K 2PA | Tel: 020 7499 1684